It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 10:50 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: E-mail with custom/offsite DNS
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:52 am 

Hi,

I'm new to freehostia but I'd just like to say I'm amazed at the amount of features for a free host. Thanks to the guys that run it.

I have a domain that was originally hosted with afraid.org's FreeDNS service. I noticed that in the "hosted domains" section, of freehostia there's an option labeled "don't manage DNS for this domain".

At first I checked that, and kept my domain hosted with afraid.org's DNS. Everything was fine, until I tried to set up an e-mail account. I was sure to point the MX record to the correct smtp server (hex5.freehostia.com), but still all mail going to the new account was rejected with a '550 - relay access denied'.

I switched my domain to use freehostia's DNS, and everything works okay now. But, is there a way in which that configuration would work?

Thanks.

Post subject: Re: E-mail with custom/offsite DNS
PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:09 pm 

euphoric wrote:
Hi,

I'm new to freehostia but I'd just like to say I'm amazed at the amount of features for a free host. Thanks to the guys that run it.

I have a domain that was originally hosted with afraid.org's FreeDNS service. I noticed that in the "hosted domains" section, of freehostia there's an option labeled "don't manage DNS for this domain".

At first I checked that, and kept my domain hosted with afraid.org's DNS. Everything was fine, until I tried to set up an e-mail account. I was sure to point the MX record to the correct smtp server (hex5.freehostia.com), but still all mail going to the new account was rejected with a '550 - relay access denied'.

I switched my domain to use freehostia's DNS, and everything works okay now. But, is there a way in which that configuration would work?

Thanks.

Do this: