It is currently Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:48 am


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Aliasing subdomains to another server
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:40 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:33 pm
Posts: 1
I have a website hosted on Freehostia (call it domain.com), and I have a site hosted on another hosting service (call it domain2.com). Both are shared hosting services, so I don't have a dedicated IP address.

I want domain2.com to be my development environment, but I'd like to be able to direct my team to dev.domain.com, rather than having them remember the other domain.

More importantly, I'd like the redirected domain to persist, and be responsive to page changes. What I mean is that I don't want to type in dev.domain.com and end up with domain2.com in the address bar, but if the user navigates to another page (call it page), the address bar will update to dev.domain.com/page

I think I can do this with a reverse proxy, but I don't know how to set that up and I don't know if Freehostia will allow me to. Can anyone advise?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aliasing subdomains to another server
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:03 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:59 am
Posts: 256
sbeatrium wrote:
I have a website hosted on Freehostia (call it domain.com), and I have a site hosted on another hosting service (call it domain2.com). Both are shared hosting services, so I don't have a dedicated IP address.

I want domain2.com to be my development environment, but I'd like to be able to direct my team to dev.domain.com, rather than having them remember the other domain.

More importantly, I'd like the redirected domain to persist, and be responsive to page changes. What I mean is that I don't want to type in dev.domain.com and end up with domain2.com in the address bar, but if the user navigates to another page (call it page), the address bar will update to dev.domain.com/page

I think I can do this with a reverse proxy, but I don't know how to set that up and I don't know if Freehostia will allow me to. Can anyone advise?


Hello,

Please open a trouble ticket regarding this matter via Control Panel Open New Ticket menu which is situated under the Help section. Then we will be able to assist you further.

Thank you for the assistance!

_________________
Best Regards,
WidWool


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ]  Moderators: Support Team, Moderators

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011