FreeHostia Forums
http://forum.freehostia.com/

Aliasing subdomains to another server
http://forum.freehostia.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=62992
Page 1 of 1

Author:  sbeatrium [ Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Aliasing subdomains to another server

I have a website hosted on Freehostia (call it domain.com), and I have a site hosted on another hosting service (call it domain2.com). Both are shared hosting services, so I don't have a dedicated IP address.

I want domain2.com to be my development environment, but I'd like to be able to direct my team to dev.domain.com, rather than having them remember the other domain.

More importantly, I'd like the redirected domain to persist, and be responsive to page changes. What I mean is that I don't want to type in dev.domain.com and end up with domain2.com in the address bar, but if the user navigates to another page (call it page), the address bar will update to dev.domain.com/page

I think I can do this with a reverse proxy, but I don't know how to set that up and I don't know if Freehostia will allow me to. Can anyone advise?

Author:  widwool [ Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Aliasing subdomains to another server

sbeatrium wrote:
I have a website hosted on Freehostia (call it domain.com), and I have a site hosted on another hosting service (call it domain2.com). Both are shared hosting services, so I don't have a dedicated IP address.

I want domain2.com to be my development environment, but I'd like to be able to direct my team to dev.domain.com, rather than having them remember the other domain.

More importantly, I'd like the redirected domain to persist, and be responsive to page changes. What I mean is that I don't want to type in dev.domain.com and end up with domain2.com in the address bar, but if the user navigates to another page (call it page), the address bar will update to dev.domain.com/page

I think I can do this with a reverse proxy, but I don't know how to set that up and I don't know if Freehostia will allow me to. Can anyone advise?


Hello,

Please open a trouble ticket regarding this matter via Control Panel Open New Ticket menu which is situated under the Help section. Then we will be able to assist you further.

Thank you for the assistance!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/