It is currently Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:31 pm


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Domain Hosting
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:36 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:30 pm
Posts: 3
Hi!

I have registered a domain shashank.we.bs with 50webs.
And I have hosted my site on freehostia.com (shaheg.freehostia.com).

Now, I want shashank.we.bs to point to my freehostia account.
I understand that i have to set the DNS record in my 50webs account to point to freehostia's DNS server. I have done that. Set it to dns2.freehostia.com (64.72.112.13).

But when i point my browser to shashank.we.bs, i get "Problem loading page"
Any ideas as to what i should do?

btw, when i ping shashank.we.bs, i get this :
Pinging shashank.we.bs [64.72.112.13] with 32 bytes of data:
...

and ping shaheg.freehostia.com results in
Pinging shaheg.freehostia.com [64.72.119.195] with 32 bytes of data:
...

The ip's are different!
Does it mean that the dns server of we.bs isn't forwarding the dns query?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:55 am 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Barrie On Ca
it's forwarding ok
have you upoaded any files to shashank.we.bs yet?
sorry, didn't mean to make you look bad, but that my first thought


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:51 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:30 pm
Posts: 3
FnCool wrote:
it's forwarding ok


Really? shashank.we.bs works??
Well... I am still greeted with this "Problem loading page" :

Image

FnCool wrote:
have you upoaded any files to shashank.we.bs yet?
sorry, didn't mean to make you look bad, but that my first thought


Yes I have. Infact, shaheg.freehostia.com and shashank.we.bs both point to /www/shashank.we.bs/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:54 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 6:30 pm
Posts: 3
I got this reply on 50webs forum

Quote:
Freehostia have many servers on there network..

Because your domain isnt yet hosted on any account on their system it is simply going nowhere...while the subdomain is actually going to the server that hosts your account..

This is why the IPs are different.

Check with freehostia for the problem. The DNS with 50webs are fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:18 pm 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:21 pm
Posts: 842
The domain name shashank.we.bs shows with red X in your account Control Panel. I have tried to make a WhoIs of this domain name but with no success so I am not sure what are the DNSs set. Could you please contact 50webs and ask them for a WhoIs of this domain name?

_________________
Best Regards,
Burton
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:07 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Barrie On Ca
yeah, finding any way to whois the .bs TLD is about impossible
i have an old program called neotrace, that will kind of do it, and i get this for shashank.we.bs:
Name: dns2.freehostia.com
IP Address: 64.72.112.13

so i'm "presuming" the actual DNS record to be set right.

if you trace the above ip(same as you found), it comes back as:
Name: dns2.freehostia.com

the page is indeed blank, so my thought is the site
http://shashank.we.bs
just seems to have no files in it



you said:
"Yes I have. Infact, shaheg.freehostia.com and shashank.we.bs both point to /www/shashank.we.bs/"

this is confusing me


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ]  Moderators: Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011