FreeHostia Forums
http://forum.freehostia.com/

Using IP Address to preview site
http://forum.freehostia.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=9290
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jamesmcgilliard [ Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Using IP Address to preview site

Dear Sirs,
I was just wondering wether freehostia has the same option of previewing site via IP like cpanel hosts? If yes, how do i go about it?
Any experienced webmaster should understand this question. Please advise
Thank you

Author:  Burton [ Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:37 am ]
Post subject: 

The only way to make this possible is you to purchase a dedicated IP for the host in question, to assign it to the domain name via the Subdomain Manager menu of your account with us and to wait for several hours in order the changes to take effect. After that you will be able to open your host via an IP.

Author:  adalac0 [ Mon May 02, 2016 6:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using IP Address to preview site

I tried username.freehostia.com using a free account and I was not able to preview my website. After upgrading to the watercircle plan, I am now able to preview my website this way.

Author:  Ludewig [ Wed May 04, 2016 8:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using IP Address to preview site

Hello,

You would be able to preview the account if you set a shared sub-domain pointed to the directory where the website is uploaded. This could be done from your Account -> Hosted Domains - > Create a Sub-domain and select the shared domain provided for the account. Once the sub-domain is created you should click edit option at the Hosted domains section and select the directory at which the website is uploaded. If the steps are properly followed you would be able to resolve the website from the newly created sub-domain.

If there is anything else, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/