It is currently Mon Jul 24, 2017 6:42 am


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: GoDaddy and Freehostia
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:14 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Posts: 2
Ok, this will take a little bit of explaining first:

First off, Freehostia is one of the best free hosts I've used. I am trying to start the basics of the website I'm trying to build going with the free hosting, and will upgrade later if/when things go well. However, the first thing I have to do is get my domain name working.

I registered my domain through Google Apps (www.google.com/a), who in turn registered it through GoDaddy. I specifically registered the domain through Google because of the Gmail accounts I get that use my domain name (user@domain.com). Now, I much prefer Gmail to any mail client I've ever used. However, there's a bit of a snag in my plan.

GoDaddy and Freehostia won't cooperate correctly for me to get my Freehostia site on the www. subdomain. So, in essence, my problem is as follows:

If I set the DNS to {dns1.freehostia.com | dns2.freehostia.com}, I lose my ability to use Gmail for the mail accounts. However, if I set it back, I lose the ability to use Freehostia as my www server. Thus, does anyone know if there is a way to set either the GoDaddy IP records to Freehostia's server, or to forward Freehostia's "MX" records to Google's server (I believe it is ghs.google.com, but this is what they have on my GoDaddy DNS control panel).

If it helps any, would it make more sense to do something like Park the domain? I actually don't quite know what this does.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:46 pm 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:27 am
Posts: 933
You can host here your domain name. In the same time you can use Gmail mail server. Just edit MX record of domain name using "Custom DNS records" tool. Notice that it's possible to use only one MX record.

_________________
Andy
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 7:14 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the speedy reply! I'm changing the DNS settings, so in about 24-48 hours, I'll see what I can do with the mail servers.

Once again, Freehostia is the best.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:53 am 
Getting Started
Getting Started

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:34 am
Posts: 64
I bought a domain through 123-reg.co.uk, they control the DNS records. I point it at freehostia with an A record. I then added a "www" CNAME record of "mydomain.com." which means you can access my site identically with or without the "www".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:11 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 4
Both are good


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:17 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:39 pm
Posts: 3
Quote:
I bought a domain through 123-reg.co.uk, they control the DNS records. I point it at freehostia with an A record. I then added a "www" CNAME record of "mydomain.com." which means you can access my site identically with or without the "www".


Again, not trying to bump a thread, but just some knowledge I wanted to pass along. Most web hosts do this as default, so I don't want readers to come on here thinking they have to do extra to get people access to their domian. Once you have a domain, the user actually doesn't have to type the subdomain unless it is different than www, although if you really do want a unique subdomain you need to run compatibility tests with you email marketing software to make sure everything is functioning.


Last edited by venerablehost on Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:44 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:21 am
Posts: 1
sparky_132 wrote:
I bought a domain through 123-reg.co.uk, they control the DNS records. I point it at freehostia with an A record. I then added a "www" CNAME record of "mydomain.com." which means you can access my site identically with or without the "www".


The CNAME records are a pointer to another name already in DNS. Therefore, if you have added a www CNAME to your website, all users will be able to see your website without typing the full www.domainname.extension.
Please note that CNAME records must be terminated with a full stop or they will not work correctly.
For CNAME records, you still have to wait up to 24-48 hours for the propagation.

_________________
Roxenne- domain names Techincal Support Agent @ 123-reg.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GoDaddy and Freehostia
PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:54 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:50 am
Posts: 2
Once you have a domain, the user actually doesn't have to type the subdomain unless it is different than www, although if you really do want a unique subdomain you need to run compatibility tests with you email marketing software to make sure everything is functioning.


______________
=== solitaire ===


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ]  Moderators: Support Team, Moderators

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011