FreeHostia Forums
http://forum.freehostia.com/

Subdomains will not work when URL is prefixed with 'www.'
http://forum.freehostia.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=9745
Page 1 of 1

Author:  SquareWheel [ Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:47 am ]
Post subject:  Subdomains will not work when URL is prefixed with 'www.'

Hi there.

Well, my my regular domain (http://squarewheelgames.com) loads just fine when prefixed by 'www.' (http://www.squarewheelgames.com), although every time I make a subdomain, I find that www.sub.domain.com cannot find the server. I know this error has to do with DNS, but to be honest I don't quite understand how DNS works. So if somebody could help me point www.sub.domain.com to the right location, that would be awesome, because I'm pretty darn confused.

Thanks a lot, any help is appreciated,
Wes

Author:  Andy [ Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:47 am ]
Post subject: 

I'm afraid that your subdomains can't be reached if you add "www" in front of the subdomain name. This is a global server set and it can't be changed.

Author:  SquareWheel [ Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:54 am ]
Post subject: 

Oh dear.. I don't want to cause trouble, but that is something which I see as an issue. People often still type www when entering URLs, and you are potentially losing customers or viewers to your site. As I've said, I'm not very familiar with DNS, do you know if other web hosts can achieve what I'm looking for? Thank you for your help.

Author:  Josh.Waller [ Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:31 am ]
Post subject: 

What you will need to do is to create a new subdomain which is www.sub.domain.com that redirects to sub.domain.com The reason for this is it is common that www itself is acctualy a subdomain itself depending on the server setup.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/