It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:47 am


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CSS file not picking up... HELP!!!
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:10 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:10 pm
Posts: 5
i've been having this problem since today.

when i call my html files they show up in weird ways and i found that it was because it didn't find my css file for some reason. it worked till yesterday and i haven't edited or uploaded or changed any of my files since last month so this is surprise and not anything that i've done wrong.

just if anyone asks here are some details.

here's my code from the INDEX.HTML file to call the css file
Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../style/file.css">


HOME / index.html
STYLE / file.css

home and style and both in root

never had a problem with the code so anybody has any idea whats going on???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:24 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:10 pm
Posts: 5
UPDATE
Imagejust two minutes after posting this problem my site started showing things correctly and it's all working perfectly. can i know what happened???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:52 pm 
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 521
Hi broadway,

It is possible that your site was stored temporally in a file on your computed called a Cache that wasnt detecting the changes. If this happens again its always worth clearing out your cache first.

Josh

_________________
http://www.mjmclocks.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:32 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:10 pm
Posts: 5
hey josh,
i was getting the same issue over and over by firefox so i tried using IE and it showed the page perfectly. so i quickly opened the site on firefox to see if it was a firefox issue but it too showed the site perfectly. no idea what happened but i cleared the cache right away after then.

Rgds,
broadway


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:41 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 9
I am still having a problem with this.
Well somewhat...

my css files work but I can't get my server side includes to work

when I look at the files I combined to make my page it looks wierd. I looked at the source code and when I do it has been changed.

this is my test for the ssi.

http://remcycle.org/top.shtml

I used both
<?PHP
include("bottom.shtml");
?>
and what ever the ssi version is and they both look the same.

Can anyone tell me what is going on?
Oh and before you tell me to empty my cache, I have and I have also looked at it from many computers.

this is orgiginal code.

top.shtml

Code:
<html>
<head>

<!-- ***** Enter Newsletter Title Below ***** -->

<title> Newsletter Title Here </title>

</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000" link="#CC3333" vlink="#CC3333">

<center>

<table cellpadding="10" cellspacing="3" width="600" bordercolor="#CC3333" border="3">
<tr><td align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#CC3333">
&nbsp;<br>

<!-- ***** Enter URL for Left Graphic ***** -->

<img src="http://www.lyris.com/images_old/template_sample_97x112.gif">

</td><td bgcolor="#FFCC99">
&nbsp;<br>

<font size="+2" color="#CC3333"><b>

<!-- ***** Enter Announcement Title Below ***** -->

Announcement Title Here!

</b></font>

<p>

<!-- ***** Enter Descriptive Text #1 Below ***** -->

Descriptive text #1 here.  Enter your descriptive text #1 here.  Descriptive text #1 here.  Enter your descriptive text #1 here.  Descriptive text #1 here.  Descriptive text #1 here.  Enter your descriptive text #1 here.  Descriptive text #1 here.  Enter your descriptive text #1 here.  Descriptive text #1 here. 

<p>

<table cellspacing="5" cellpadding="5">
<tr>
<td align="center">

<!-- ***** Enter URL for Link (1st) AND Graphic (2nd) Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com"><img src="http://www.lyris.com/images_old/template_sample_135x74.gif"></a>

</td><td>
<?PHP
include("bottom.shtml");
?>


bottom.shtml

Code:
<!-- ***** Enter Descriptive Text #2 Below ***** -->

Descriptive text #2 here.  Enter your descriptive text #2 here.  Descriptive text #2 here.  Enter your descriptive text #2 here.  Descriptive text #2 here.<br>

<!-- ***** Enter URL and Name for Link Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com">Name Your Link Here</a>

</td></tr><tr>
<td align="center">

<!-- ***** Enter URL for Link (1st) AND Graphic (2nd) Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com"><img src="http://www.lyris.com/images_old/template_sample_135x74.gif"></a>

</td><td>

<!-- ***** Enter Descriptive Text #3 Below ***** -->

Descriptive text #3 here.  Enter your descriptive text #3 here.  Descriptive text #3 here.  Enter your descriptive text #3 here.  Descriptive text #3 here.<br>

<!-- ***** Enter URL and Name for Link Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com">Name Your Link Here</a>

</td></tr><tr>
<td align="center">

<!-- ***** Enter URL for Link (1st) AND Graphic (2nd) Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com"><img src="http://www.lyris.com/images_old/template_sample_135x74.gif"></a>

</td><td>

<!-- ***** Enter Descriptive Text #4 Below ***** -->

Descriptive text #4 here.  Enter your descriptive text #4 here.  Descriptive text #4 here.  Enter your descriptive text #4 here.  Descriptive text #4 here.<br>

<!-- ***** Enter URL and Name for Link Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com">Name Your Link Here</a>

</td></tr></table>

<p><hr>
<center><font size="-1">

<!-- ***** Enter Footer Below ***** -->

Footer text here | footer text here | Footer text here<br>

<!-- ***** Enter URL and Name for Link Below ***** -->

<a href="http://www.example.com">Name Your Link Here</a>

</font></center>
</td></tr></table>

</center>
</body>
</html>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:58 pm 
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 521
top.shtml must be saved as a .php file for the php to run so top.php

_________________
http://www.mjmclocks.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:55 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 9
So here it is as a php

http://www.remcycle.org/top.php

It looks longer, but I am still having the same problem. it wants to add alot of /s to the code and now I am getting the errors on top.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:08 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 9
I think I know what it is doing.
when ever there is a space in the code it adds a / for some reason.


so something like this

<table cellpadding="10" cellspacing="3" width="600" bordercolor="#CC3333" border="3">
<tr>
<td align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#CC3333">

Somehow turns into this when you go to it

<table cellpadding="10" cellspacing="3" width="600" bordercolor="#CC3333" border="3">/
<tr>/
<td align="center" valign="top" bgcolor="#CC3333">/

I can avoid the problem by putting my entire page on one line, but that is really annoying and hard as crap to read.

Can anyone tell me what is going on?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:19 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 9
never mind about that thing I said about it would be fixed if I put it all in one line, because it doesn't fix it all. As you can see the page almost looks perfect except for the two errors on top. Those I can't fix.

because this

\f1\fs24 \ \pard\pardeftab720\ql\qnatural \f0\fs22 \cf2 {\rtf1\ansi\ansicpg1252\cocoartf949\cocoasubrtf350 {\fonttbl\f0\fmodern\fcharset0 Courier;} {\colortbl;\red255\green255\blue255;} \margl1440\margr1440\vieww25100\viewh15040\viewkind0 \deftab720 \pard\pardeftab720\ql\qnatural \f0\fs26 \cf0

is where my two pages are connect through the php include script.

does anyone else have problems with this? or is it just me?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:29 am 
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 521
do you need to use shtml or would html do the job?

_________________
http://www.mjmclocks.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:56 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 9
ok it is now html, but it does the same thing


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Moderators: Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011