It is currently Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:04 pm


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installing phpBB-3.0.0
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 10:11 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1
Hi!

I'm trying to install phpBB-3.0.0 but I get this at the 'Installation compatibility' step.

Quote:
PHP version and settings

Required - You must be running at least version 4.3.3 of PHP in order to install phpBB. If safe mode is displayed below your PHP installation is running in that mode. This will impose limitations on remote administration and similar features.

PHP version >= 4.3.3:Yes

PHP setting register_globals is disabled: No
phpBB will still run if this setting is enabled, but if possible, it is recommended that register_globals is disabled on your PHP install for security reasons.


PHP setting allow_url_fopen is enabled: Yes
Optional - This setting is optional, however certain phpBB functions like off-site avatars will not work properly without it.

PHP function getimagesize() is available: Yes
Required - In order for phpBB to function correctly, the getimagesize function needs to be available.

PCRE UTF-8 support: Yes
phpBB will not run if your PHP installation is not compiled with UTF-8 support in the PCRE extension.



mbstring extension check

Required - mbstring is a PHP extension that provides multibyte string functions. Certain features of mbstring are not compatible with phpBB and must be disabled.

Function overloading: Yes
mbstring.func_overload must be set to either 0 or 4.

Transparent character encoding: Yes
mbstring.encoding_translation must be set to 0.


HTTP input character conversion: No
mbstring.http_input must be set to pass.

HTTP output character conversion: No
mbstring.http_output must be set to pass.



[...]

(Test again)


How can I solve this? thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:53 am 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:27 am
Posts: 933
Please open a trouble ticket regarding this issue. Then we will be able to help you.

_________________
Andy
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2007 10:57 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 33
Easy, just change the URL so it skips the test. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:00 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 7:52 am
Posts: 27
Or use an earlier version. I'm using a 2.x version after 3.0 did the same thing to me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:50 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:57 am
Posts: 2
Glitcherizer wrote:
Easy, just change the URL so it skips the test. :P


lol nice i actually tried to install this today, the requirements that it doesent have, do they actually matter?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:56 pm 
Getting Started
Getting Started

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 146
Easy, go into where the file page is, and create a file called php.ini put in the file

register_globals = off

_________________
http://www.snowneo.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:58 pm 
Getting Started
Getting Started

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 146
As soon as I get into my account because I am having a hard time logging in I will tell you exactly the file location of it. and anything I might have missed.

_________________
http://www.snowneo.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:18 pm 
Getting Started
Getting Started

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 146
Ok, I got in. anyways. go into the install folder and create a file called "php.ini" in that file put
Code:
register_globals = off


And that is it, nothing else needed.

_________________
http://www.snowneo.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:17 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:32 am
Posts: 33
Hello,

You will have to make a custom php.ini file containing the following line:

register_globals = off
mbstring.http_input = pass
mbstring.http_output = pass

Note that the php.ini file works only for the folder it is into. You may have to copy the file in all the folders where you want the "register_globals = off". Then you will be able to continue your installation.

_________________
Best Regards,
Vin
Freehostia Support Team


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:04 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Barrie On Ca
for everyone asking about phpbb3:
make sure you have set your PHP version to PHP5 in your control panel before doing anything else.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing phpBB-3.0.0
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:36 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:27 am
Posts: 1
your PHP version to PHP5 in your control panel before doing anything else???



== Solitaire ==


Last edited by alstonamos on Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing phpBB-3.0.0
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:19 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 3:12 pm
Posts: 11
In order to set the PHP version to PHP5 you should go trough your Hosting Control Panel -> Advanced -> PHP Configurations.

I hope this helps! If you need further assistance please feel free to contact us.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Moderators: Support Team, Moderators

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011