It is currently Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:47 pm


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OSCommerce email
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:28 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:23 pm
Posts: 3
Hi

I know that you cannot use the SMTP server in the free hosting account and consequently any emails sent from my OScommerce installation will not work, however i was wondering if there is any way to change the SMTP server from localhost to an external one? For example, i have read that it is possible to use Gmails SMTP server for this, however i understand that you need access to PHP.ini and i know that this is not possible, yet i have also read that it is possible to do this by use of .htaccess yet i am quite inexperienced with this.

Thanks in advance

Samputer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:32 am 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:27 am
Posts: 933
It's possible only if you host a domain name into your hosting account. In this case you will be able to change the MX record of your domain and use some other mail server instead of ours.

_________________
Andy
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:26 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:23 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks

do you have to transfer the domain to yourselves or can you simply change the DNS settings on the existing 'host' of the domain because i dont want to move my domain from 1and1 or is that the only way to do it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:21 pm 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:21 pm
Posts: 842
In order to host the domain name you just have to set our DNSs from your domain name registrar.

_________________
Best Regards,
Burton
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:12 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:23 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks

Right, i have the DNS settings with my registar (1and1) set as google apps settings in order to use google apps, I have changed the DNS settings on my freehostia account to the same settings as the ones i have with my registrar, that is the google ones. is that right? or should i be setting them to the actual 1 and 1 default ones?

I am currently waiting for the DNS settings to update (obviously takes upto 48 hours) so theres nothing else i can do but wait, but am i doing the right thing? i want to be able to use the mail functions through oscommerce

Thanks

Sam


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:14 am 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:27 am
Posts: 933
Hello Sam,

Yes, you will need to wait.

_________________
Andy
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ]  Moderators: Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011