It is currently Tue Aug 16, 2022 4:41 am


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:16 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 8
Here's my traceroute info:

Last login: Sat Aug 23 08:56:41 on console
Macintosh-4:~ esoltas$ traceroute freehostia.com
traceroute to freehostia.com (64.72.112.12), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 1.968 ms 1.618 ms 1.534 ms
2 * * *
3 ge-2-4-ur01.eatontown.nj.panjde.comcast.net (68.86.159.249) 10.035 ms 15.213 ms 10.119 ms
4 te-1-1-ur02.eatontown.nj.panjde.comcast.net (68.86.210.78) 22.113 ms 11.047 ms 15.016 ms
5 te-2-1-ar01.eatontown.nj.panjde.comcast.net (68.86.210.82) 12.848 ms 10.768 ms 9.909 ms
6 po-90-ar01.verona.nj.panjde.comcast.net (68.86.208.9) 11.900 ms 14.108 ms 11.782 ms
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:12 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 8
Interesting.....exactly as mine, stops after 6 hops. I see your using Comcast as well....

C:\Users\***>tracert www.freehostia.com
Tracing route to www.freehostia.com [64.72.112.12]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 3 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192..168.1.1
2 * 7 ms 9 ms 96.67.228.1
3 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 68.85.140.41
4 9 ms 14 ms 11 ms te-8-1-ur01.putney.vt.boston.comcast.net
[68.87.
146.205]
5 9 ms 12 ms 10 ms
te-9-1-ur01.hinsdale.vt.boston..comcast.net [68.8
7.146.201]
6 14 ms 15 ms 16 ms 68.85.162.73
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:35 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 8
Are you also having side issues, like certain actions don't run as fast as they normally would? Like I've created file creation things with PHP, and they're not working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:01 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 8
As in on my website? I am not using PHP or anything beyond HTML and bits of javascript, the organization I am using the website for only wants bare bones. But I haven't had any issues at all besides accessing freehostia.com. (By the way, why are we able to access the forum and not the main site....?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:02 am 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:27 am
Posts: 933
Obviously problem is caused by Comcast ISP. I hope that they will be able to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

_________________
Andy
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:59 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 8
There's nothing you can do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:33 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:04 pm
Posts: 38
We did request from Comcast to unblock the IP address of Freehostia.com and the control panel. Still waiting for resolution.
However any customer which is facing the issue can request the IP of his/hers domain name to be unblocked from the link provided below.

http://www.comcastsupport.com/Forms/NET ... ovider.asp

We do not have a list of the blacklisted domains this is why the request was just for the IP address of the control panel and the main website.

_________________
Best Regards,

Kevin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:35 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 8
My domain is not blocked, it's only freehostia.com, and the control panel...though my case may be different from everyone elses! (and thanks for contacting Comcast as well!!!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:27 pm 
Support Tech
Support Tech

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 2:27 am
Posts: 933
They will resolve this problem very soon. Usually IPs being blocked only for 24 hours.

_________________
Andy
ModeratorsTeam
Freehostia.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:45 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 8
My problem is exactly like pliadm's (I've written a few posts above this one), obviously I can get onto the forum subdomain. Mine is accessible but some folders and php/mysql seems to act up a little. The control panel and main domain are the two things that are down. MySQL (database) is inaccessible for me as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:42 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 8
Andy wrote:
They will resolve this problem very soon. Usually IPs being blocked only for 24 hours.


I have been blocked since....Friday at least though. (I must sound so whiny having to come back here to post over and over....sorry about that!!)

(Update from Comcast: so far I have not recieved any more emails. I did recieve one stating:

"I understand you are getting an error message when attempting to send to
a Comcast.net e-mail address. Comcast has recently made changes to our
filters and is now blocking e-mail messages sent from domains that do
not have their Reverse Domain Name System set up correctly."

I didn't get an error message, and I replied saying that I didn't recieve an error message, but I have not recieved an email back. So...theres my update! :D )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:11 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:25 am
Posts: 7
For me:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Anthrocoon>tracert www.freehostia.com

Tracing route to www.freehostia.com [64.72.112.12]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 6 ms 6 ms 5 ms c-3-0-ubr05.needham.ma.boston.comcast.net [73.17
2.216.1]
2 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms 68.85.184.133
3 7 ms 6 ms 7 ms te-9-3-ur01.newburyport.ma.boston.comcast.net [6
8.87.144.13]
4 6 ms 6 ms 7 ms po-23-ur01.groveland.ma.boston.comcast.net [68.8
7.144.129]
5 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms po-24-ur02.lawrence.ma.boston.comcast.net [68.87
.144.133]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 *

And here is what shows up when I try to access freehostia.com:
Network Timeout

The server at freehostia.com is taking too long to respond.

The requested site did not respond to a connection request and the browser has stopped waiting for a reply.

* Could the server be experiencing high demand or a temporary outage? Try again later.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
* Still having trouble? Consult your network administrator or Internet provider for assistance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:01 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:25 am
Posts: 7
Could this be the problem? Under firefox I click Tools then Page Info/Security and get the following message

This website does not supply identity information
(and under it a bit further)
Connection Not Encrypted
The website freehostia.com does not support encryption for the page you are viewing. Information sent over the internet can be seen by other
people while it is in transit.

--------
I emailed freehostia support and they think the problem is with my ISP
(Comcast). Comcast seemed to think it was a problem with a blocked
email;I told them actually it was a URL, freehostia.com, that wouldn't
work for me. I may call their support up now...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:31 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:25 am
Posts: 7
...was told by Comcast that they don't block any site--poss. firewall or
security setting problem? Changed, still won't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:06 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:01 pm
Posts: 8
I'm still having issues too. Freehostia really should CALL comcast to see what's up. It's not good for a hosting company's reputation to be blocked by a major internet provider.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Moderators: Moderators, Support Team Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Hosting | Domains | Servers | Extras | Order | Support | Contacts | FreeHostia © 2011